Blog  |  Syncro,

Default Permissions for Non-Portal Users Added to Syncro PSA & RMM

Today we’re excited to announce the next feature from our new Community-Driven Development Track!

A special shout out goes to Alex Brendel for the request. Alex wanted a way to add additional security to his Customer Portal for customers that didn’t have individual portal accounts assigned. He also wanted to limit what his break-fix customers saw in the Customer Portal, as they didn’t need access to the full breadth of functionality our Customer Portal feature offers.

We’ve now added a new portal permissions group specifically to address these scenarios, allowing Alex the ability to implicitly define what his non-portal users will see.

Here’s what Alex had to say about this new feature update:

“Previously we did not have a way to limit the portal permissions for non-portal users. This would mean that any customer that didn’t have a user assigned would automatically get permission to everything. Being able to control the default permission on non-portal users using a public link is a no-brainer, and will ensure that our customers data is safe and secure when it comes to the portal.

We also do one-time work sometimes under the break-fix model. These clients do not need to see estimates, assets, etc. so having the ability to manage those permissions are essential.”

Learn more about the Customer Portal within Syncro in our Customer Portal Help Center article.

Not currently using Syncro? Sign up for a free one-on-one product tour here.

Cheers,
The Syncro Team

Ian Alexander

Ian Alexander

Co-founder and Channel Chief at Syncro. Always trying to find ways to help MSPs. Former MSP tech and break-fix owner. Basketball player, human and dog dad. Grew up in Berkeley, living in Sacramento.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.